Monday, 5 March 2012

Musical Town

This was recommended in today's audio lecture and this is a terrible song I made:

http://isleoftune.com/?id=235028

So much fun.
-Ryan

Wednesday, 22 February 2012

Microsoft vs. Google

I'm sure we both know of the corporate giants Microsoft and Google.

Microsoft being the biggest seller of software in the world and Google being the largest search engine and Advertising business.
What happens when Google tries to expand into the software and Appstore business?

Well I'll tell you what, Microsoft makes a video slamming Google:




Although the Advert is hilarious I think Microsoft made a stupid move making this video.

However, the video is slightly inaccurate, anyone who uses Google knows that their products are VERY useful.

Poor Microsoft, scared of a little competition.

By little I mean HUGE, I personally believe that Google is the future.

All hail the Google!
- Ryan

Putting terrible pictures of you on Facebook is NOT illegal?

... in America at least.

Eric Olson sued his own uncle because his uncle (Randall LaBrie) added a childhood picture of him onto Facebook.
Randall then posted some teasing comments on the photo and Eric wasn't too happy about it.

We've all been there.
Everyone has terrible pictures somewhere on Facebook, the sensible among us just untag ourselves.
Some people just get over it, accept the picture and laugh at themselves.
Now, some people think it's a good idea to sue the person who added the photo. SPOILER: It's not.

Randall was sued for harassment but the court session didn't last long and was definitely not won.
The judge dismissed the appeal and it was also rejected from a higher court.
The judge said: "Comments that are mean and disrespectful, coupled with innocuous family photos, do not affect a person's safety, security, or privacy -- and certainly not substantially so"

There is some strange people in the internet, I feel the long term solution is to not take pictures of them.

For more information or just to know where I got my information from.
Check out this video:





It's not about the money, money/
We don't need your money, money, money/
We just wanna make the world dance/
Forget about the Facebook tag.

- Ryan

Friday, 10 February 2012

Double Fine

TV is now on board with the internet.

What about video games?
I've seen Rockstar games trying to promote their online club which gives you an in-game bonus but the people of the internet and video games have never been connected until now.

The game studio Double Fine have gone on Kickstarter.com and asked fans for $300,000 to make the game and $100,000 to document making the game.

This was a bold move and the best part is... in under 24 hours the game studio made over $1 million.
Breaking the record for most money made in a 24 hour period.

The game they plan to make is an old-school adventure game which was turned down often by game developers/publishers, so Double Fine studios turned to the fans.

Since they've way over shot they're target, they plan to publish their game on more consoles, have a totally original soundtrack and much much more.

If this project is successful, fan interaction with video games will never be the same.

The best part of this (for me) is that this information was released today. (10/2/2012)

So this blog is really up-to-date.

Future looks less grim.
- Ryan

Sunday, 29 January 2012

Kodak bye-bye?

I remember my parents using Kodak to print out their photos. We had a Kodak shop in our town and I remember it's yellow and red colour scheme well. I also remember it being quite up to date on the printing side of things.

Apparently I was wrong.

Kodak has filed for bankruptcy or whatever because their company went down the toilet.

I also remember the Kodak adverts, as far as companies go, I was quite fond of Kodak. But the name had slowly been disappearing lately and it was only when the bankruptcy was mentioned in a lecture that I actually noticed I hadn't heard the name Kodak for a while.

I did some research... I know what you're thinking. "Ryan you're a lazy *******, you don't do research!"
Well, person in my head, you are wrong, I googled it and everything.

Kodak start failing because it specialised in developing film, the business took somewhat of a nose drive when Mr. Digital came along.

Anyone else remember the phrase: Kodak Moment?
Well this is going to be their last one!
No idea why I'm getting all sentimental over a business I never used, I really have no idea what their problem was, if Jessops can make it why couldn't Kodak?

I read that Kodak was one of the companies that pioneered the creation of the digital camera and to be taken down by it is a bad case of irony.

Well that's all I have to report and further proof that I did my homework on this is that Mr. Kodak himself (a self proclaimed 'not special' high school drop-out) killed himself in 1932.
I wonder if he tried to frame somebody...

How's that for a snappy ending.
-Ryan

Saturday, 28 January 2012

SOPA, PIPA and the devilish ACTA

Companies should not control the internet.
The government are doing a far better job than they think they are. It is a hard balance keeping piracy to a low and keep freedom of speech on the internet.
Corporations want this power to stop new industries and businesses from taking money from them and that is not fair, especially from my point of view. In doing this, SOPA, PIPA and ACTA will take away the majority online freedoms including sites like Wikipedia, Youtube and  even Google to a certain extent.

Sure, people put their content online and watch/listen to it for free but studies has shown that if they download content illegally and like it they are more likely to discover and buy new genres and movies that they never would have previously heard of.

Bare in mind this post is a rant so not particularly structured.
I understand if I owned if I owned Warner Bros (and about forty mansions) I would want all the money I can get but as someone who uses the internet as a form of expression I don't want to lose my freedom.

It is a simple fact that piracy will always exist. It's an unstoppable force of human nature. Freedom of expression however is not.

Sony is obviously against piracy yet they sell the CD-R burners that pirates use.

I don't want to get too much into the actual documents as it's becoming and old topic now but I know what they say, what they are supposedly meant to do and I know what they will really do. They are silly.

Pirates is such a cool word.
-Ryan